Together in Spirit

Trailblazers

Please contact the parish office at 651-784-3015 with any questions.

St. Joe’s is committed to creating a partnership with families to insure that faith within families continues to grow. We believe that a child’s relationship with Jesus begins at home. Our goal is to work with families to help reinforce a strong foundation of faith and encounter Christ through Catholic teachings.

Our Trail Blazers Faith Formation Ministry is designed to engage children through experiential learning, combining hands-on guided learning through "play" and reflective thinking. We believe it is important for children to be active learners; giving them an opportunity to use all senses to experience the Catholic faith and God's love for us. We begin session with Large Group Prayer through music, singing, Bible teachings and messages and often times include an experiment that will help us explore and discover the amazing world God created for us. After Large Group Prayer, children meet in small groups for Bible stories, Catholic teachings, group discussions, and experiential learning activities. We use the curriculum from Saint Mary's Press called Discover-Finding Faith in Life for grades 1-5. Our 6th grade youth learn about the life of Jesus and other Great People of the Bible through small group discussions and activities. 

Our 2nd grade children celebrate the Sacraments of Reconciliation and First Eucharist. The preparation process is integrated with regular Faith Formation sessions plus two retreats and child/parent meetings. It is designed to not only be spiritual, but fun and exciting. Children in 3rd grade and older seeking the Sacraments of Baptism, Reconciliation and Eucharist should contact the Parish Office to learn more about a special adaptation of RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation for Adult) for children. Parish Office: 651-784-3015.  

Children in Grades 1-5 receive the curriculum Discover-Finding Faith in Life which includes a Catholic Children's Bible, Activity book, Leaflets, and a backpack. PLEASE NOTE: Your child is issued one Catholic Children's Bible to use for Faith Formation through 5th grade. Grade 6 will receive a Catholic Youth Bible. Youth in Grades 6 through Confirmation are issued one Catholic Youth Bible to use for the duration of Faith Formation

 

2022-2023 Schedule for 1st through 8th grade

Wednesday - September 21 - Faith Formation Kick Off Wednesday, January 4
Wednesday, September 28 Wednesday, January 11
Wednesday, October 5 Wednesday, Janary 18
Wednesday, October 12 Wednesday, January 25
Wednesday, October 26 Wednesday, February 1
Wednesday, November 2 Wednesday, February 8
Wednesday, November 9 Wednesday, February 15
Wednesday, November 16 Wenesday, February 22
Wednesday, November 30 Wednesday, March 1
Wedensday, December 7 Wednesday, March 15
Wednesday, December 14 Wednesday, March 22
  Wednesday, March 29
  Wednesday, April 5